50 Miles

Posted on 03/12/2015

0


 

I wanted to let you know about something extraordinary I am attempting tomorrow.

It won’t have an impact on your day or week or life, but maybe it will give you some entertainment during work on Friday the 13th.

Recently, I saw a list of the “83 things every man should do before he dies” on this site:

http://www.esquire.com/lifestyle/advice/a26343/bucket-list-0414/

Yeah, we’ve all seen them and blown most of them off. Initially I did too. However, there was one item on this particular list that kept calling me.

It said simply enough: walk somewhere at least fifty miles away.

And I thought. Hmmm. Fifty miles. I can walk fifty miles. I’m no Dean Karnazes but I can certainly WALK that far.

So tomorrow, I am going to do a 50 mile walk. Some of you have seen the “urban hikes” I have been doing over the past few months. Those were to get me prepared for this.

There was a big 50 mile hike fad in 1963. Robert Kennedy actually started it. He did it in 17 hours and 50 minutes in the cold, wearing loafers. He had a 2.80 MPH rate average. You can read about it here: https://50milehikers.wordpress.com/2010/11/13/the-50-mile-hike-phenomenon/

As for me, I will rise at 4 AM and try to get out of the house before 4:30. I hope to complete my walk by 8:30 PM to 9:00 PM that night.

My starting point will be my home in Euless, and my end point will be Main Street in Decatur. Why Decatur? Because it gives me the best mix of city/country for my walk. If you want different comparison, it’s like walking from downtown Fort Worth to Prosper, which is north of Frisco.

I will post to Facebook as I go. Hopefully every two hours, but sometimes more often. I have a solar charger for my phone to keep it kicking.

My original idea had no connection to a charity, but since many of you won’t understand why I am doing this unless I attach it to something like that, I have created a crowdrise campaign. All you have to do is click this link and donate. https://www.crowdrise.com/50milewalk/fundraiser/jasonmyers2 I urge you to give what you can. My goal is $500. The charity I have chosen is Feeding America.  It helps feed the millions of people in our country who don’t have enough to eat. So if you’re compelled/inspired by my self-inflicted suffering, please give to those in need.

I haven’t let a lot of people know about this, and there’s really only one reason, I didn’t want a lot of “I’ll do it with you!” primarily because I wasn’t really sure when I was going to be able to do it and didn’t want to nail down a day with co-walkers and then it turns out to be a rainy, dreary day. I’ve already had enough scheduling conflicts within my own household to mess up anyone else’s! So screw that. I am lucky enough to have a great job that permits me to take days off as I need, and this time it really has paid off. The weather tomorrow looks to be okay for a pleasant 50 mile walk. Wait, did I just say that?

Some people will ask why I am doing this.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5t8Utwa_YYQ

Watch the first few seconds of that clip. It should explain it.

He says, “Fifty years from now when you’re looking back on your life, don’t you want to be able to say, you had the guts to get in to the car?”

Get it?

If not, I am posting this one again:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UDb-7DY3CjU

I don’t want to look back on my life with regrets about things I *didn’t* do.

NO REGERTS!

http://wtftattoos.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/noregerts.jpg

I like to physically challenge myself. I’ve never been in as good shape as I am now at 44. That’s sad, but I don’t want to waste any more time not doing stuff because I am out of shape. For some strange reason, this walk caught my eye and if I didn’t did it, I would regret it. Why do people climb mountains? Why do they run marathons? Why ask why!?

Some people may say this is a “midlife crisis” thing. Yeah, okay. If that’s how you want to label it, I’m okay with that. I look at this way: I’m in my mid 40’s and I don’t have a lot of years left to do big physical challenges like this. I wasted my younger years on being egregiously overweight and out of shape. I don’t want to waste the few years I’ve got left, waking up, and sleepwalking through the day, watching TV at night, going to bed, repeat, repeat, until I wake up in the retirement community wondering just where the hell my life went. If this 50 mile walk is a midlife crisis, sign my ass up.

I am certain I can do this, but you never know. I could twist my ankle at mile 13 or get attacked by a pack of coyotes at mile 30 or get abducted by aliens at mile 21. But my goal is to finish the 50 in less than 20 hours.

So know that while you’re getting ready for work on Friday, I will have already been walking for a few hours and while you’re at work, I will be walking and when you get off work, I will still be walking, and while you’re having dinner, and have even more distance to go.

If you’re reading this and there’s something you’ve been putting off that you really want to do, why not do it now? You only live once.

My first post will be tomorrow morning around 4:15 AM-ish.

Tagged:
Posted in: About