Standing Desk 1.75 years update

Posted on 01/25/2014

0


I am sad/happy to tell you that my standing desk experiment has ended.

I would say it was a great success. In the beginning I really didn’t like the leg aches and being tired at the end of every day, but after a while it became the norm. I never got past the drained energy feeling at the end of the day, even a year later.

My two biggest problems were this:

I exercise, do my workout, after work. And so many days I was so tired at the end of the day, I didn’t put my all into the work out. I half assed it. Which bothered me a lot. I still did it for over a year, but it really put a drain on my workouts.

People say that after a few weeks, you don’t even realize you’re standing while working. I call bullshit. I certainly did. When it didn’t call for more than a few minutes of concentration, I was okay, but more than that, I just couldn’t get my head into the game enough to really concentrate, unless I sat down. This, over time became a problem. I started to let stuff slip because I would put it off for a few days until I was working from home and could sit down to do it. It became more and more prevalent.

Now, all that being said, if I could get one of those standing desks you can lift when you want to stand then lower when you want to sit, I would go for that all day. I could mix it up which I think is much better. But good GOD man all day was too much.

So I had to go back to sitting. I still stand for a good part of the day, just not ALL day. If I can ever afford to get one of those lifty things for the desk, I will.

jason

