Shoes online

Posted on 02/16/2012

0


First and foremost, I am 6’3″ tall. I wear a size 15 or 14 shoe (depending on who makes it).

I am a large human.

So when I need to get shoes, I don’t get to waltz in like most peeps and just start trying on shoes. Oh hell no. Here’s my typical scenario.

I walk into a shoe store (or dept. store) and say, “I need to see all your dress shoes 14s and 15s in black.”

The salesman goes back and shuffles through the boxes, and typically brings out 5-8 boxes of shoes.

Yep. That’s my selection. 8 pairs of shoes. Yes, it does suck.

The only place that used to cater to dudes with big feet, went out of business.

So, I decided to try something new: order shoes online.

Now, don’t get me wrong, it was still a bitch of a time trying to find shoes in my size, but not nearly as hard as it is in the stores, and my selection went from 8, to around 25. Not too bad.

My only concern? When you have feet as big as mine, it ain’t easy finding shoes that fit just right. I typically have to try on ALL the pairs they bring before me to get one that fits. Finding shoes that fit are probably the most important thing a human can do. Bad feet equals bad everything. Ask any podiatrist.

I ordered my shoes and they got delivered. I tried them on and they seemed to fit alright–they were a little snug. So I had a decision to make. Send them back or keep them. Sending them back would be a whip, and then what? Start over? So I did what I am sure the firm who sold me the shoes thought I would, I sucked it up and wore the suckers.

And boy. My feet are ACHING now. Blisters on both heels and sore foots. But you know what? I’m gonna keep wearing them. You know why? Because when you have feet as big as mine, you pay top dollar to get shoes. I don’t get the 39.99 special. All my shoes are over $100, and most are way over. Sucks, but what’s a big foot gonna do?

So I sit here, feet aching, writing this blog.

If you have normal feet, be glad.

 

You know what they say about men with big feet right?

Yeah, they get screwed when it comes time to buy new shoes.

Posted in: Original Idea