Water

Posted on 12/02/2010

0


Something weird happened to me today.

I stood at the water machine we have at work, filling up my cup. (My workplace is green, so you have to bring your own cups)  While I filled this cup, watching the water slowly rise, I thought to myself, “We should worship water.” Seriously. It’s everything to our existence. Without water, there would be no food to feed up, no planet to sustain us, no life in our bodies.  And yet we in the United States waste so much water every year. We take it for granted, and we shouldn’t. Water is precious and we need to take better care of it.

And then, when I got back to my desk, I was on a techie web site, doing some research, and the add for Charity Water came up in the ad rotation on the web page.  I clicked it (you can too, here: www.charitywater.org ) and was amazed.

Almost one billion people don’t have access to clean drinking water.  Dirty water kills more people every year than all the violence in the world. And 20 bucks can give a person clean drinking water for 20 years.

I don’t know what to make of that. I donated of course, but it was an eerie feeling–having the thought, then seeing the ad.

 

 

