Enough?

Posted on 06/11/2010

4


I have a couple of friends, they know who they are, who are tweaking their novel-length manuscripts.

And they have been for a very long time.

I don’t understand this. It’s not that I don’t understand them, I don’t under their tenacity. I write a story, play with it a few times, and then set it aside and start a new one. I have one friend, he’s been working on the same novel for 3 years now. That’s a long time. Sure, I think you should probably spend a year on a book, but three years? Wow.

I write a novel, revise it, then let it simmer for a few months, while I go work on another story. This gives me the necessary distance from the story so I don’t get caught up in the forest and trees problem.  But this guy has been going over the same historical novel with a fine-toothed comb for months and months. I want to tell him to step away and get some perspective, but to each his own. Hell, he may be right, and I may be crazy.
What do you do, oh intrepid visitor? Do you freaking get a bone in your mouth, and don’t let it out until it’s gnawed down to nothing? Or do you go work on something else, and let the story simmer for a while? What way do you think is better?  I honestly don’t know. All I know is, I don’t have the patience my friends do. I have to move on. I get bored with one story 🙂

Posted in: Writing