Back

Posted on 06/04/2010

2


I’ve been writing a lot lately. There was a month or so where I didn’t write much. Didn’t feel like writing much. You know, I’m not one of those writers who does the write every day thing. Never have been.

But this was a stretch for me. I hadn’t written in a few weeks. Sure, I’d tweeked a few WIPs, but not really written anything new and fresh. It’s probably (not probably it IS) because I started my new job, and it’s been kicking my ass lately. I just didn’t have it in me to do anything creative. Every day was just come home and veg from work. 

See, I know a lot of people are like, “You must write every day.” Or “You must treat this like a real job if you ever want it to become a real job.”  I call bullshit there!  See, even in my real job, I don’t do the same thing every day, and I sometimes screw off and have to emergency do something.  If I ever become a successful and famous author, nothing will change. I still won’t write every day.  Don’t get me wrong. I LOVE TO FREAKING WRITE. It’s fun. But it’s also a chore. Anyone who tells you it isn’t is full of shit.

But man, creating new worlds, making people cry, sit up and shout, HELL YES! make them have fun, is why I like to write. It’s a blast. 

So I’ve started scrubbing the old rust off (how that shit can build up after two months of not writing is amazing) and kicking it. I’ve missed it. I don’t know if it’s missed me.  To tell you the truth, I just starting writing on one of my WIPs and didn’t care if it was good prose or shit. I just wrote. I have a great outline for this novel, I just need to follow it. Revisions are there for a reason, right? I just put the words down and will go back and make them pretty later.

So do you write every day?  Or can you? Are you a fits and spurts writer?

Posted in: Writing