Tasting what you cooked and it’s missing something…

Posted on 03/16/2010

0


I have gone back into to do some editing on my “New Adult” story. It’s a complete departure from anything I’ve ever done in the past and it shows—to me at least.

While the idea of the story was simply kick ass, and my writing its usual “stumbling-upon-good”, I can’t help shake the feeling there is something missing and I cannot put my finger on it!!! I have re-read it after I wrote it, and the story was cool and fun. I barely let the reader take a breath in this story, and just keep throwing more and more at them until they are too freaked out to put the book down. I took a different approach to this story in that, whenever a boring scene was coming up (I call them a “talky” scene) I simply did away with it and had something happen my protagonist. She had to figure a way out of it and quick, every time. And whenever I was hitting a roadblock on the story (I had the initial idea of the story, but this was a nanowrimo, so I pantsed the whole thing) I would quickly introduce a character, or have one show up out of the blue. Each character had his or her own agenda and schedule during the book and whenever I needed something to trip up my heroine, I would throw a new character at her, or have an unexpected one show up at a bad time. That was the driving force as I wrote the story, and it reads FAST. You fly through scenes and try to catch your breath, because this girl never slows down.

But that’s the problem, I’ve never written a New Adult story, never written a female protagonist, and never written an urban fantasy…so I don’t know what works and what doesn’t. See, I don’t read those types of books, but when the idea bitch-slapped me across the face, that’s where I saw it in my mind’s eye.

I’m in the strange position of wanting people to read the story now, before I am done with much more editing, simply because I’m not sure what to do with the story! Sure it has an ending and WHAM POW is it a big one. The premise of the story is so intriguing and high concept that I know others are going to flock to it, and the title is something you would see on a bookshelf and immediately pull off to look at. So I’ve got all the elements of a whopper on my hands, but I feel like someone just handed me some sheet music from Mozart, and I’m carrying a harmonica and a kazoo. It’s not my writing that’s freaking me out, it’s the over-arcing story line.

Hence why I need someone to read it now, before I get too deep. I know, I know. “It’s your story, do with it what you want.” But seriously, I don’t know what I want and I would like to get a take from others before I go hog wild and revise and polish the dookie out of this thing. Unfortunately, I am loathe to ask most of my writer friends to read the story, because I know they have their own writing to do, and basically I am asking them to give up some of their precious time to read my story of dubious worth.

I’ve never felt like this about a story before. It’s strange.

