Lynne Roberts Interview

Posted on 10/09/2009

5


I am interviewing the inimitable, Lynne Roberts today. Her new work, First Date is out October the 9th. 
 
Jason:  Okay, so how’d you come up with the idea for First Date?

Lynne:  Out of all the  books I’ve written, First Date probably has the least interesting genesis.  

Erotic romance isn’t my first genre but after I met a few erotic romance writers on line and read their work, I decided to give it a try. As I was pondering how to get started, an old high school (rather chaste) fantasy about being stranded somewhere in the rain with the campus stud came to mind.  

I asked myself why two characters might be stuck together during a storm and extrapolated from there. That’s why Jill and Bret know each other from high school. After that, the similarities end.

Jason: Erotic fiction was just something you thought you’d give a try, and here you are with a published story! Congratulations. If everything you try out works this well, you’ll go far. So do you plan on continuing to write more erotic fiction, or will you go back to your previous genres…or both? What does the future hold for Lynne?

Lynne: A Mercedes SL class AMG, I’m thinking LOL
 
 Good question!
 
I have another erotic short, After Hours, coming soon from Wilder Rose Press another subbed, one ready to sub and I’m working on yet another. LOL I think (hope) I’ll be in the erotic romance  genre for awhile.
 
However, I’m not giving up my fantasy career. I still have a manuscript with agents and a brand new shiny idea I can’t wait to unwrap. Right now it’s about priorities. My erotic romance is selling so I’m currently focusing on that genre.

Jason: Yes, yes! Focus on what sells. Keep doing that and the Mercedes will come. Thinking about erotic romance, how do you know how far to go when describing the sex scenes? When is it too much and how do you know it, when you get there? Are there rules to the genre that people might not know?

Lynne: How far is too far? It depends on the heat level you’re comfortable with.
 
For most publishers there are some hard and fast rules: No beasiatlity (with the exception of werewolves and even then the sex should be between the human part of the werewolf and his chosen mate.) Absolutely no rape or pedophilia. Some houses publish homosexual stories, some don’t.  Really, the writer can get as sexually creative as they are comfortable doing within the publishers guidelines.
 
For instance, BDSM sells very well but it ups the heat factor past my comfort level so I don’t write it. I do know some writers who do and do it very well.
 
It’s important to remember that that we are focusing on the characters and the sex is part of a storyline.
Jason: Excellent point. I’m a dude, so I always focus on the sex 🙂  But the characters are key, just like any other fiction out there!
 
Well thanks for letting me interview you, Lynne.  One final question: What can you tell all those writers out there who are trying to get where you are?  Is there any magic to it, or is it just tenacity and elbow grease?

 
Lynne: Thank you for having me, Jason. It was fun! And thanks for the reminder. I’m working so hard to get further than I am now, I haven’t thought of how far I’ve come.
 
What is that saying about opportunity being equal parts timing and hard work? Let me be honest, I had no idea how hard producing a readable work of fiction would be when I started on this path, and it’s probably a good thing.
 
My advice for all writers: Read. Really, it’s that important. Reading in your genre is a must. Second to that, learn everything you can. This industry is brutal, only those that brush off rejection and learn from it, continue. LOL I guess what I’m saying is be prepared to be tenacious and use a lot of elbow grease.

Thanks again, Lynne. 
You (yes, you!) can pick up Lynne’s new book here:  http://tinyurl.com/yjuwz93

Posted in: Writing