NaNoWriMo

Posted on 09/19/2009

7


Okay, I’m going to do it.

I’ve known about National Novel Writing Month for a few years now, but never stuck my toe into the water.  I mean, why write a book in one month? You know it’s going to be crap! Seriously! Well, it’s only 50,000 words, that’s only 1,667 words a day for 30 days.

My next thought was about what to write. I’ve got a ton of stories in my head, but which one do I want to slam down onto the pavement?  Do I write one that I need to get completed? One that I know I’ll never actually do unless I force myself? One of my more fantasy-related stories?  I am still not 100% sure which one I am going to put down.  I am leaning more toward a little story I thought up while on a road trip through Texas.  It’s a story I probably won’t ever actually freaking write unless my hand is forced, and I think it could be complete at just under 80,000 words.  So 50,000 will get me really close to finishing it.  But I do have another book I need to finish too. So does that book take a break during the November month?  How many words will get written on it?

That’s the one reason I didn’t want to do the NaNoWriMo because I typically work on two to three projects at once, and that would force me to work on only that story for the entire month.  Do I want to do that?

Well, I’m going to at least give it the old college try.  What can it hurt, and I truly may learn something while doing it. I’m only taking one month out of my life to do it, so it’s not that big a deal.

So that’s why I am going to do it. To try something completely different and see what I can learn from it. I’m not terribly concerned with the word count. If I’m not worried about quality, I can slam 5,000 words in a few hours.  I am certain I will finish. And I’ve never written to a hard time goal. So that will be fun too.

As I progress through my project, I’ll let you know how it’s going. Maybe I can get a cheering section?

Posted in: Writing