KILL THEM!!

Posted on 04/19/2009

0


Your first 50 pages must die!

Well, that’s what I’ve been reading by a lot of agents and editors online lately. They state that most writers can remove the first 50 pages of their manuscript and the story could start there with no mess up in the train of the story. 

Okay, fair enough. They’ve been doing this for a while and they seem to know what they are talking about in other areas. I am going to look at one of my books. The beginning of this book is, I believe, a little slow. Well, I could toss you directly into an action sequence, but this story is more character driven, and I need you the reader to get inside his head, andquick.  That’s where the real story is.  So I am going to flip to the 50th page or so and see what I can cut out in the first 50 (if any) and then revise that sucker. I want to rewrite the whole scene in some fashion and I do my best revising in my head before even sitting down to look at the page.  So all day I will be revising the scene in my head, and then later I will attempt to cut and chop and make it more “grabby”.

Posted in: Writing